Bikes & Basketball!

Bikes & Basketball you ask? We loved it!

I was going to write the intro to this blog as per previous ones but after L drafted hers it was so brilliant I thought “I’m not needed here” 😁

So without further ado here’s a little update on a recent fun adventure by bikes, brought to you by L!

Hello everyone! A quick update on our cycling.

So, me and my family love basketball. My dad plays at this centre called the National Basketball Centre indoor court and they also hold basketball games, so my dad got tickets to the basketball match and guess what! It was my first live basketball match. Then a few weeks after my dad said “oh I’ve a found some tickets to go see basketball on bank holiday Monday!”

Oh my gosh I was so happy that, the night before the basketball match when I was going to bed I had a sudden urge to silently scream “YYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!”.

Because it was bank holiday Monday there were no busses but what I didn’t realise is that it took half the time going by bike than by bus. Even though we made it there with 1 minute to go we would have missed about 15 minutes if we had travelled by bus. Now that’s what I’m talking about people! Bikes are fast!

Love Lx

Come on (Mcr) Giants!

She’s right, cycling there was quick and direct. Where we live we can now access / cycle through few streets that have benefited from low traffic neighbourhoods measures, by becoming filtered for cycling, walking and wheeling, thus making them much safer – aka reducing drivers’ rat running and speeding. We planned our route using as many as these filtered streets as possible.

Given we were the only bikes locked up outside the entrance I think we might have been the only people who cycled there. Hopefully we gave others an idea for next time.

It’s been a new experience for me too, going to a basketball match, and I loved it. We feel very lucky to live somewhere that has such easy reach by bikes and public transport to excellent places and services.

It is a joy to be able to get to many of them with our bikes as a family. Supporting L grow her independence, as this is exactly what cycling can do, and does!

Happy photo accident as we parked our bikes!

Leave a comment