A bit of sunshine!

It’s Friday and apart from a quick moment, I don’t recollect having seen the sunshine for a fair few days…

As it’s Friday and since, I don’t know you, but I go a little cuckoo from lack of sun, I’d like to share some sunshine photos I took end of January around my ‘hood, with my film camera… I am new to film, my dad used to love photography, he has given me his Rolleiflex, but I also got a cheap but delightful Praktica L2 and I am learning, and loving it! I’ve seen a revival of film, which is great. Dad can’t stop smiling, he thought the Rollei would have been relegated to the mantelpiece as a piece of antique… Rollei is safely tucked away till a dear friend of mine is going to teach me, very kindly, how to develop film myself, as medium format film is sooo expensive to develop. While 35mm film is still cheap and cheerful!

So anyhow, although sans vélo I hope these photos can brighten up this dull and dreary Friday (well, in Manchester anway)… with spring around the corner, I hope to take my Praktica with me more often when I am out and about with Vita.

Wishing you all a great week end! I am off to CAT next week for the February module. Toodlepip! xoxo

13 responses to “A bit of sunshine!

  1. Rolleiflex! You lucky thing.

    Composing for squares is a challenge, but can produce wonderful pictures.

    Developing the film (as long at’s B&W) is easy, and it’s a pretty forgiving process. Ilford LC29 lasts ages, and is easy to use, and plays nicely with most films. My stuff is here – http://www.flickr.com/photos/john_the_monkey/sets/72157600070620833/ – I was pretty disciplined about recording deveoper, film, agitation &c, so they might give you a starting point for your own development. Enjoy it, it’s something I wish I still had the time to do.

    • Thanks John! I’ll keep in mind Ilford LC29 🙂 My friend TB is going to teach me to develop 35mm B&W first, then once I get the hang of that it’s gonna be the 120 film 😉 I had one 120 B&W film developed (negatives only) by lab and I am not joking I think they charged me something like £15???

      Great Flickr stream btw!

    • Hey LC,

      My bachelor’s degree is in photography actually 😀

      I have a small collection of camera’s in storage back in Australia including a Kodak Junior medium format, an Agfa Snap, Pentax K1000 (the last completely manual SLR built), a couple of Box Brownie’s, Canon Eos 50, Diana+ etc.

      There are some B&W 35mm films which can be processed using C-41 (standard colour processing) which means you can take it to any cheap photo processing shop. These films are:

      Kodak BW400CN.
      Ilford XP2 Super
      Fuji Neopan 400CN.

      They tend to be very grainy and high contrast, but it makes for cheap B&W SLR photography if you don’t have access to a darkroom or processing equipment.

      Sadly I don’t have any film cameras here except one old Kodak I bought at an outdoor market for £1.50

      You should check out the growing lomography trend which is basically epxerimental photography with old or replica toy cameras e.g. like my Diana+ check out this site. http://www.lomography.com/

      If you know anyone with a working darkroom I’d love an introduction, I’ve been keen to get back into my photography for a while.

      • How fantastic! You could still pick up a good second hand SLR camera, if you fancy getting back into photography.

        And thanks for so much info! Really useful!

        When I learn to develop my own film, I plan to have a simple set up to develop at home (i.e. chemicals, sink, tanks and black bag)… once I get the hang of it I’ll be happy to pass on my knowledge 🙂

      • I have the know, it’s the equipment I lack. Usually houses are not ideal for setting up home darkroom’s as you need a room that can be light sealed and have the space for enlarger’s, developer, fixer and washer trays preferrably running water and decent drainage for chemicals. A large shed with water or a basement are good locations as it’s a pain to do setup and takedown on a regular basis.

        I always liked cyanotype printing as it’s the most primitive and requires very little equipment. e.g. the cyanotype chemical mix, a wooden board with a sheet of cut glass, garden hose, clothes line and a warm dark room to dry your paper before exposure. I used to do this in my bedroom when I still lived at home. I used to dry the cyanotype paper in my wardrobe with a fan shoved inside 😀 lol.

      • Sorry MrM, that’s what I meant to say, that when I get the hang of it, i.e. the set up I’ll be happy to pass the knowledge (of the set up that is), i.e. where I get my stuff from and how I am going to get organised… that’s all 😉

        [I can set up in the garage or our bedrooms have small built in closets, and the one in the spare room could work as a super mini dark room]

        PS – btw I do intend to learn to develop film then scan… one little step at a time 😉

  2. Hiya LC

    Great pics – you can’t beat a bit of blue sky. I didn’t realise your course was through CAT. I’ve seen them on the web before have…cough…driven past it once on the way home from Tenby. It’s in a really nice place. If you’re into sustainable buildings there is a self built Walter Segal type house somewhere near Urmston.

    @Muldydoona – Thanks for putting up the Lomography link – what an interesting site :>)

    • 😀 Ahh, got to check out the house in Urmston then, didn’t know that! Cheers!

      Lomography cameras are great! When I have a bit more spare cash I’d like an Holga 35mm 😉

Leave a Reply

