The first snow!

As I have been expecting… like a little girl (I never get tired of not feeling grown up!)… this morning we woke up to the first blanket of snow…

Only a dust, you could say… but a polar wind, blue sky and freezing temperatures, means this little dusting didn’t melt and made everything looked pretty!

Since I am determined to keep on cycling this winter, I thought this to be the perfect opportunity to test riding in snow – one step at a time – so off I went, to Levy to do some shopping first then to Cringle Park… I probably looked odd to the various dog walkers: a lady on her own taking photos of her bike… but hey! who cares! I had sooooo much fun!

From my outing I feel cycling in snow is definitely easier and safer (!) than walking. I just don’t look forward when the snow will melt then turn to ice…

PS – I am so pleased to have received so many positive comments at the idea of “Bicyclists Who Brunch”… more details coming soon!

16 responses to “The first snow!

  1. I like the new banner, perhaps you could make a series of seasonal ones based on your adventures. I’ll be heading out onto the Fallowfield Loop soon with Yuba. I’ve not tried snow and total darkness at the same time before.

    • =) that’s a nice idea! I think it’ll be nice to see familiar landscapes as they change through the seasons.

      I have to admit I find the Fallowfield Loop in pitch black quite scary, so I’ve never dared… perhaps in a big group it would be all right and quite fun… but not on my own…

      • You don’t tend to get shifty characters hanging around the Loop after dark due to the total lack of illumination. However, maybe an evening group ride could be organised at the Wheelers’ Brunch

      • I think, no doubt, mine is more of a mental block… a cliche` woman’s fear… but, on my own, I still prefer being on the Loop during daylight =)

        I like the idea of a group ride though! A great experience and good for building up confidence too

  2. Nice pictures! Unfortunately it’s too cold for me to get out on my bike and I feel really restless.

    I’ve been on the Fallowfield Loop after dark with my boyfriend and it’s not too bad, there’s still people obviously commuting home. I wouldn’t want to go alone though.

    • If you fancy meeting for coffee to get out of the house, let me know ๐Ÿ™‚ as we live close we can both easily escape from our four walls =) I need to finish my uni assignment but staying inside the house for too long can drive me crackers lol!

  3. I love the new banner!
    I’m looking forward our first snow too.
    Yesterday snowed very near to my town so I hope to touch snow soon enough ๐Ÿ™‚
    I really love the images of this post. I think your bike looks lovely in the middle of the snowy park!

    • Thanks Nuresma! I look forward to seeing pic of your snowy landscapes! Will you go out with your Brompton when it snows? =)

      • I’m not sure Brompton and snow would get on well…
        Your boyfriend has a Brompton, isn’t it? Has he ever ridden on snow?
        Or anyone else?

      • he has three bikes, but when it snows he definitely uses his Brompton =) he just makes sure to keep his chain clear and oiled as snow and grit can play havoc.

    • thanks Sigrid! The silhouette in the background is of a former pavillion which unfortunately now it’s all bricked up, although it’s still quite cheery with a colourful mural ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Gorgeous snow photos! If Manchester gets a lot of snow and ice, you may want to consider studded tires. No snow yet in Chicago, but I predict I’ll be putting mine on in a couple of weeks.

    • Hey Dottie! Thank you kindly!! Unfortunately when it does snow, it plays havoc, everyone and everything shuts down (!)… but it doesn’t stick around long enough to warrant studded tires, although from reading your posts last year I did consider it ๐Ÿ™‚ btw your video on winter cycling clothing has been my point of reference! I plan to do one for a more ‘milder’ winter cycling for Manchester ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Here in Washington, D.C., we had our first snowfall of the season last week…about 3-4 inches. Just the right amount – – not too much to keep you off the bike, but enough to have fun biking in. ๐Ÿ™‚ I ride a mountain bike with studded tires when it snows, and those tires really help keep you upright…especially when the snow turns a bit icy after it melts. Some people think I’m crazy to bike in the snow….but, as you have noted, it’s fun and pretty easy. I always say biking on a thin layer of snow is like biking on a soft blanket….it’s incredible. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy and be safe! ๐Ÿ™‚ Charmaine

Leave a Reply

