Bought, cooked and eaten…

I tend to do a ‘big’ shop once a week for dried food, like tinned tomatoes, pasta etc, then buy the fresh ingredients when needed from the local shops in the village where I work…

This means we spend less, as we buy only what we need, and in turn we don’t throw away food… has it ever happen to you to find an old and manky lettuce in the bottom of the fridge you had forgotten you bought??

Few days ago I found a great offer on the last field mushrooms in my local greengrocer, when I saw them I thought ‘roasted, stuffed mushrooms’… oh yes!

So, snuggled in my front basket I got them home, together with mature cheddar and stilton…

No-one said this blog is only about cycling… plus cycling and food go hand in hand! So here’s my recipe! Enjoy!

(my measures are approx… if you grate a bit more cheese than needed it’s not the end of the world!)

Serves 3

Ingredients

2 field mushrooms per person (6 in total)
200gr mild or mature cheddar (to your taste)
100gr stilton
3 garlic cloves crushed
1 medium size onions chopped finely-ish
olive oil
black pepper

How to

– Preheat your oven at 180°C

– Wash lightly the mushrooms and gently wipe dry

– Cut the ‘stalks’ but make sure you don’t make a hole in the mushrooms though! Chop the stalks and set aside.

– Place the mushroom, bottom side up, in a baking tray that has been oiled/greased well.

– In a little bowl mix the crushed garlic with 6 tbsp of olive oil and a bit of pepper. Mix well. Drizzle it over the mushrooms.

– Pop the mushrooms in the oven for 10min.

– While the mushrooms are in the oven ‘alone’, gently fry the chopped onion in a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper in a pan, on a medium heat, till golden. Take the chopped mushrooms’ stalks and add them to the pan with plenty of black pepper. Let them gently cook till the 10min of the mushrooms are up.

– In the meantime grate the cheddar in a bowl and crumble the stilton in another bowl.

– Once the 10min are up, take the mushrooms out of the oven, spoon over the mix of onions and mushrooms stalk; then sprinkle on top first the stilton then the cheddar.

– Pop back in the oven for a final 10min.

I serve them with fresh tomatoes and simply boiled basmati rice! Very yum indeed!

Also part of the LGRAB Summer Games – Part 2

5 responses to “Bought, cooked and eaten…

    • Thanks Lady V! I am thinking of kitting out Vita with a rear basket too 🙂 increase the grocery load capacity! (here’s my usual grocery shopping set up!)

  1. That sounds so good! I should try making this. And then blog about it 😉 Food and cycling certainly do go very well together! The more I cycle, the more food I can enjoy.

Leave a Reply

